Certified Food Managers are an essential part of a food safety culture that keeps your customers safe from foodborne illnesses. When your customers are safe and happy, you can maximize your business potential and stand out from the competition.

Certification is fast and easy – and costs much less than fees and brand damage incurred by an outbreak.

Our Food Safety Manager Certification Program assesses the knowledge and skills of entry-level food managers. We use recognized exam development practices to design certification exams that exceed industry expectations for clarity and accuracy.

National Registry offers its food safety manager exam in two formats.

  • The Food Safety Manager Certification Examination (FSMCE) is accredited under exam standards set by the Conference of Food Protection (CFP).
  • The International Certified Food Safety Manager (ICFSM) is jointly accredited under both the CFP standards and the ISO 17024 standard.

Both programs are accepted throughout the United States and meet regulatory requirements.

Target Audience

Restaurant and commercial food service managers • wait staff • chefs • bartenders • hosts and hostesses • students • cooks • shift leaders


  • Assesses knowledge and skills
  • Satisfies “Person in Charge” regulations
  • Promotes food safety culture

Exam Languages

  • English
  • Spanish
  • Chinese (Modern / Traditional)
  • Korean

Certification / Exam

  • 80 questions
  • Valid for up to 5 years
  • Accredited by ANSI against Conference for Food Protection standards
  • Pearson VUE version also accredited by ANSI against ISO 17024 standard

What You Need to Know

  • You must successfully pass the examination to receive your certification
  • Your certification is valid for a period of up to five years
  • Different states and jurisdictions have different regulations regarding food manager certifications. View regulations and restrictions in your state.
  • National Registry is an ANSI-Accredited Certificate Issuer – Accreditation #0656.